CENTRAL VIGILANCE COMMISSION

Genesis: The Central Vigilance Commission was set up by the Government in February, 1964 on the recommendations of the Committee on Prevention of Corruption, headed by Shri K. Santhanam, to advise and guide Central Government agencies in the field of vigilance. CVC are conceived to be the apex vigilance institution, free of control from any executive authority, monitoring all vigilance activity under the Central Government and advising various authorities in Central Government organizations in planning, executing, reviewing and reforming their vigilant work.

Consequent upon promulgation of an Ordinance by the President, the Central Vigilance Commission has been made a multi member Commission with "statutory status" with effect from 25th August, 1998.

The CVC Bill was passed by both the houses of Parliament in 2003 and the President gave its assent on September 11, 2003. Thus the Central Vigilance Commission Act 2003 (No45 of 2003) came into effect from that date.

The Commission shall consist of:

- A Central Vigilance Commissioner Chairperson;
- Not more than two Vigilance Commissioners Members;

Vide GOI Resolution on "Public Interest Disclosure and Protection of Informer" dated April 2004, the Government of India has authorized the Central Vigilance Commission as the "Designated Agent" to receive written complaints for disclosure on any allegation of corruption or misuse of office and recommend appropriate action.
